Desserts are great for any occassion

1 Sep

Whenever I go out for dinner or attend a party, I always wonder what we’re having for dessert.  You can guarantee I’ll work backwards and choose my dessert first!  Hey, I know a few of you out there are just like me.  😉 No matter how full I am, I seem to always have room for dessert.

apple pie

creme caramel

Recently, I made apple pie and creme caramel for a BBQ.  I love pie and apple pie has always been one of my favourites.  My husband loves creme caramel (flan) and creme brule, so whenever I make it, his eyes light up and he ends up eating more than his own share.  If you look closely, you  can see all the little flecks of vanilla bean in the creme caramel.  Next time I think I’ll try adding some lemon zest to it as well!

Yesterday was my friend’s birthday so I decided to bake him a chocolate-raspberry bombe.  This cake consisted of chocolate sponge cake, raspberry mousse filling, and dark chocolate glaze.  Omg it tasted so good!!  It’s so light and airy you can eat a few slices and not feel like you’ve eaten too much.  My friend was so happy that he didn’t even have the words to express how greatful he was.  The one thing I don’t like about making mousse is that it always takes too many hours to set! 

chocolate-raspberry bombe

Tonight I have another dinner to attend so I made some mocha cupcakes with espresso buttercream.  I was supposed to eat half of one cupcake (to sample) and give the other half to my husband, but it tasted too good and I ended up eating the whole cupcake by myself. Don’t worry, I saved an extra one for him. 😉

mocha cupcake with espresso buttercream

Leave a Reply

