A monkey-themed birthday

5 May

monkey rock and palm tree cupcakes

Last week I was busy baking monkey-themed cupcakes and cake for a birthday order. Rather than making all monkeys, I made 25 monkeys, 15 palm trees (with bananas), and 10 rock cupcakes. The palm trees and rocks made a nice background for all the smiling monkeys. As you can imagine, decorating these cupcakes took much longer than piping a normal “swirl” on a cupcake. One of the hardest things was to figure out how I was going to make palm trees — luckily I made extra because I broke a few while trying to assemble the tree trunk to the leaves! The rocks looked pretty plain at first so I added grass and flowers to them.

monkey cupcakes

rock cupcakes

palm tree and a banana cupcakes

Here’s the chocolate monkey birthday cake. I hope everyone at the party enjoyed all the cupcakes and cake. 🙂

monkey birthday cake

Leave a Reply

